VyprVPN Review

UPDATED Jul. 2020
This website features affiliate links. For purchases made via these links, we earn commissions that allow us to keep producing helpful content. To find out more click here. Close

VyprVPN is a Swiss VPN provider launched in 2009 by Golden Frog, a company whose owners started their Internet businesses all the way back in 1994, which was pretty much the dawn of the Internet.

As the name indicates, Vypr is mostly known for its incredible speeds, rare connection protocols, and solid security. If this sounds like something you might be interested in, keep reading our comprehensive VyprVPN review to determine if this service works for you.

VyprVPN printscreen homepage

Speed & Performance

VyprVPN is lauded for its incredible speeds and our testing team located in Belgrade, Serbia checked those claims by measuring the overall connection speeds across 19 different servers for a period of one week.

VyprVPN speed test without vpn

The benchmark ping and connection speed recorded by our testing team in Belgrade, Serbia.

The servers in Stockholm, Amsterdam, and London were our top performers, but our New York connection speed was not far behind. This is excellent news if your main reason for purchasing VyprVPN is the ability to stream Netflix US and other popular geo-restricted platforms from other parts of the world. Servers located in Miami, Tokyo, and Singapore also provided us with very decent results while India was a complete disaster with only 2.5% of our original speed.

VyprVPN speed test with vpn amsterdam

The Amsterdam server managed to retain 89.77% of our original download speed.

VyprVPN speed test with vpn Toronto

The server in Toronto provided us with a pretty decent performance, considering the location of our test team.

We did not experience any sudden disconnects or performance issues once we managed to connect to our chosen server. However, the client definitely took its time connecting us to certain locations. For example, it took several minutes for us to establish a connection with any server located in the US.

LocationPing (ms)Download (Mbps)Upload (Mbps)
Americas
New York, US12727.112.2
San Francisco, US19011.263.02
Miami, US15521.54.79
Chicago, US14614.062.52
Toronto, CA13713.053.63
Mexico20812.82.64
Europe
London, UK5628.826.32
Amsterdam, NL4532.566.42
Frankfurt, DE5127.256.33
Kiev, UA8517.883.52
Paris, FR5535.26.3
Stockholm, SE6633.216.69
Oceania
Perth, AU3392.891.86
Sydney, AU3329.521.82
Auckland, NZ36122.271.97
Asia
Tokyo, JP27922.361.95
Hong Kong3099.972.26
Singapore28920.181.97
India2340.872.41

Supported Platforms

VyprVPN currently features native apps for Windows, Mac, Android, iOS, QNAP, routers, Blackphone, Android TV, and Anonabox. The official website also provides manual setup guides for DD-WRT, OpenWRT, and AsusWRT routers, as well as Synology NAS, Boxee, and Blackberry devices.

VyprVPN multiplatform tablet smart phone computer

VyprVPN supports up to 5 simultaneous connections (with the premium subscription), which is rather generous and should be more than enough for your entire family to enjoy protection on their favorite devices without any overlaps and inconveniences.

Servers

Vypr operates 700+ servers (metal + virtual) in 70+ locations with large clusters located in North/South America, Asia, Europe, and Africa and Oceania. The company owns more than 200,000 IP addresses and does not keep any third-party servers, which guarantees privacy from end to end. All servers utilize top-of-the-line hardware to ensure optimal speeds for streaming, torrenting, and online gaming.

VyprVPN servers

The provided list of servers also indicates the ping values for any given location.

Unlimited speeds and bandwidth are a given, but Golden Frog also implements dynamic server switching to prevent server overload and unavailability. Having said that, during our tests for this VyprVPN review, we did encounter some unresponsive servers when using certain connection protocols.

Vypr features proprietary DNS servers that allow you to hide and replace the identity and location of your device without slowing down your connection with encryption. The client enables you to either utilize Vypr DNS servers or enter third-party options of your choice. However, note that third-party DNS is currently not available on iOS.

Safety & Security

When it comes to connection protocols, VyprVPN supports OpenVPN (with either 256 or 160-bit encryption), L2TP/IPsec, PPTP, and its obfuscating stealth protocol called Chameleon. The obfuscation is generally considered an overkill unless you are in a country with a high level of government censorship (China, for example). The company recently announced that it will move away from PPTP in the upcoming versions for Windows, which is definitely the right move considering how compromised this protocol is.

VyprVPN protocol

Apart from the traditional connection protocols, VyprVPN also features a proprietary obfuscation option called Chameleon.

The cipher used to encrypt your traffic is AES-256, which is the most secure option out there, literally unbreakable by modern computers. If you ever encountered terms like “military-grade” or “bank-grade” encryption, this is the cipher they were referring to.

Vypr also comes with a NAT Firewall that runs on company servers and blocks any unwanted incoming traffic once you connect to your VPN. If you do not want to use it, you can always turn it off in your personal dashboard.

The public Wi-Fi protection will automatically connect you to VyprVPN on insecure Wi-Fi networks and the automatic killswitch feature will drop your connection the moment something or someone compromises your VPN. You can also set Vypr to start with your system and reconnect automatically after it drops the connection for whatever reason.

VyprVPN ipleak test

Our Ipleak.net test only detected our assigned IP address and DNS servers owned by VyprVPN.

Logging & Privacy

VyprVPN is a true zero-log service, which means it will never collect the following information:

  • Your original IP address
  • IP addresses assigned to you by VyprVPN
  • Connection start and stop time
  • Online traffic and contents of your communications
  • DNS requests

On the other hand, in order to ensure the highest quality of service and process your requests, the company will record your:

  • Name
  • Email address
  • Zip code
  • Payment information

When you visit the official website, Golden Frog will use web analytics and cookies to create aggregated data and track the overall usage and engagement on the site.

VyprVPN connected screen

VyprVPN features a very beginner-friendly client that allows you to protect your online privacy in just a few clicks.

Golden Frog will never sell or share your personal information and may disclose it to third parties only if instructed to do so as a part of any ongoing civil or criminal investigations. You can always amend, correct or delete your personal information collected by the company simply by contacting the customer support team.

In September 2018, Golden Frog hired an independent security company called Leviathan to audit the platform and ensure that no personal information is logged, apart from the data we already mentioned. VyprVPN is also based in Switzerland, which takes privacy very seriously and implements a series of laws to protect its citizens from US and EU government agencies, data mining corporations, and all third parties that would like to get your personal data without obtaining approval from the Swiss courts.

Streaming

VyprVPN currently allows you to access more than 40 geo-locked streaming platforms, including Netflix, Hulu, HBO Now/GO, Crunchyroll, BBC UK, ESPN+, and many others. Since its superior server-side technology ensures excellent connection speeds, the streams are usually seamless and buffer-free, even in full HD.

Having said that, the official website claims that you can use VyprVPN to unblock Netflix US, UK, Canada, and Germany. However, during our testing, we were unable to establish a connection with the US version while the other iterations worked just fine.

This is a known issue with OpenVPN and Chameleon protocols, but even after implementing the suggested fixes and switching to L2TP/IPsec and even PPTP, we were unable to access Netflix US.

Torrenting

Golden Frog’s ToS clearly states that the company takes copyright infringement very seriously, which would suggest that torrenting is not a good idea with this VPN. However, since Vypr does not log your online activity, it has no way of differentiating P2P filesharing from any other activity.

Bottom line, the company does frown upon illegal downloads and warns its users against them, but it has no way of “catching you in the act” or sanctioning you, which means torrenting is allowed.

Plans & Pricing

1 Month
3 Months
6 Months
1 Year
2 Years

1 Month
$9.95
3 Months
/
6 Months
/
1 Year
$5.00
2 Years
/

VyprVPN features two different subscription packages, both of which can be purchased for a period of 1 month or 1 year. The basic subscription allows up to 3 simultaneous connections and costs $12.95 for 1 month and $5.00 per month for 1 year ($60.00 charged every year). The premium package supports up to 5 simultaneous connections and comes with VyprVPN Cloud and the ability to use the Chameleon protocol. It costs $12.95 for 1 month and $6.67 per month for 1 year ($80 charged every year).

The accepted payment methods include credit cards, PayPal, and UnionPay. The company does not offer any free trials, but every purchase comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee, which is more than enough time to test the service.

VyprVPN price options

 

Support

Apart from a rich FAQ section on the official website, VyprVPN also provides its users with 24/7 customer support in the form of a ticket system and live chat. The support staff is quite professional and knowledgeable, so they should be able to help you with any problems and doubts you might have.

VyprVPN Support In The Client

Golden Frog allows you to contact VyprVPN customer support directly from your chosen client.

The official support page also features the latest updates and announcements, which shows how committed the team behind VyprVPN really is when it comes to keeping their users up-to-date with the latest developments.

As we are writing this VyprVPN review, the service is apparently experiencing some difficulties maintaining a stable connection in China and the team is working on eliminating this problem as quickly as possible. We hope they manage to resolve the aforementioned Netflix US issue as well.

VyprVPN Pros & Cons

As we wrap up this VyprVPN review, here’s a quick overview of the features that wowed us and the aspects of the service that could use some improvement.

Pros
  • 700+ servers in 70+ locations
  • Excellent speeds
  • Dynamic server switching
  • Unlimited speeds and bandwidth
  • Native apps for numerous platforms
  • Solid security configuration
  • Strict no-logging policy
  • Incorporated in Switzerland
  • Audited by an independent security company
  • Automatic killswitch
  • Public Wi-Fi protection
  • Access to more than 40 geo-locked streaming services
  • P2P is allowed
  • 24/7 customer support
  • 30-day money-back guarantee
Cons
  • Does not work with Netflix US
  • Connecting to distant servers takes up to a couple of minutes

User Reviews (11)

VyprVPN customer rating based on 11 user reviews.

The VyprVPN reviews listed below reflect the opinions and experiences of real users and are in no way influenced by the dating site reviewed here. Before publishing each review, our team checks whether it was submitted by an actual user in an effort to prevent false or spammy reviews.

  1. Ro | April 7, 2020

    VYPR VPN has been great. Whilst living in China I was able to surf the net via various international locations without issue, using steaming sites locked to the USA, UK and France.
    During times when alternative VPNs (such as Express) were surpressed, Vypr continued to work.
    Customer service is great and reliable. They have helped rectify billing issues rapidly.
    Speeds are great.
    I would definitely recommend

  2. D Kanellos | August 16, 2019

    Based on positive reviews, I tried VyprVPNs risk free trial. As is customary amongst many providers, they charge your credit card on enrollment. The IP address assigned geolocated to three different countries, apparently had not completed transition. My streaming traffic was blocked for in-country restriction. Contacting support was no help of course so I canceled the service. Three inquiries and several weeks later, no refund. Doing my part to inform the public. Buyer beware.

  3. Peter Samuel | March 28, 2019

    I can describe this VPN as a DISASTER!

    I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS VPN!

    TRIAL VERSION???
    There is no trial version without your credit card or PayPal address and payment!!!

    Except that VPN demands your POSTAL CODE, without it you cannot register for a TRIAL 3 day version.

    After this HELL, I could not log in and I had to change my password,
    After this “password change disaster” I got this message from vyprvpn:

    “Internal Server Error: Our server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request. The appropriate people have been notified, and the problem will be corrected shortly.

    We apologize for any inconvenience.”

  4. John | March 5, 2019

    First, to be fair, I have to mention that the VPN service itself is okay. It usually works, has lots of servers to choose from and is relatively stable.

    It’s worth noting however that if you use Vypr from China, there has been lot of downtime lately (late 2018 to early 2019), sometimes up to 3 weeks at a time.

    Now, my big complaint is that they seem to have really shady business practices with paying customers.

    I first registered with VyprVPN in 2014 with what they called at the time a PRO account, paying $99.99/year for the service.
    In 2017, the PRO service was discontinued and replaced with what they call the PREMIUM service, costing $80/year.
    Problem is, they never informed me or other customers by email about this so, if you didn’t personally change from PRO to Premium in account settings, you would still be paying $99.99 yearly for their $80 Premium service, which I did until today.

    When I contacted their customer service about this, all they could manage to say was that it wasn’t their responsibility to change their customer’s payment plan and that they could do nothing about the extra money I had been paying them for the last 2 years.

    So, for the last 2 years, I paid VyprVPN either $19.99 or $39.98 extra that I didn’t have to pay (depending on when in 2017 they switched from PRO to Premium).

    Might not seem like a lot but when you consider that they probably have thousands + customers and that I’m unlikely to be the only one with this problem…Terrible service!

  5. John Nichol | July 19, 2017

    Good VPN, but what’s up with the log keeping? They should really think about changing that, they would get a lot more users.

  6. Janine Foster, | June 21, 2017

    This is the best VPN I’ve ever installed and I’ve installed dozen, just to be clear. It works great at home, it works great when I travel, no complaints whatsoever! Even when I’m abroad it feels like I’m home because I can surf the net without a single obstacle.

  7. Lina Li, | April 30, 2017

    I’ve used much, much better VPNs before and Vypr is just nah. It works, yes, but sometimes I wonder whether it works for me or against me. It drops out quite often, makes my internet slow and I can’t even torrent. The only thing I manage to do is to open Facebook when I’m in China, but it’s slow as well.

  8. Roger Jameson, | March 28, 2017

    We’ve been struggling with trashy vpns for years and I was so happy when we discovered Vypr. We’re on premium, so the whole family uses it. Movies are streaming, files are uploading, everything works great.

  9. Laurie K. | August 11, 2016

    Service is excellent from the technical point of view. Customer support isn’t always their finest feature, with often long waiting times and somewhat confused staff.

  10. PeeVee Z | July 15, 2016

    From Chameleon to some freebies I got, I believe VyprVPN to be one of the finest in the biz right now. With certain reservations, of course, mostly regarding privacy.

  11. Nigel 22 | July 2, 2016

    I am not sure I like the fact they keep any logs at all, even though they say they delete it after a month. I don’t do anything illegal though so I guess I don’t mind it that much.

  12. Logan Jones | April 8, 2016

    I’ve been having some real good speeds with Vypr VPN, better than most other providers. The only downside is that they aren’t P2P friendly, to say the least.

    • Ro | April 7, 2020

      VYPR VPN has been great. Whilst living in China I was able to surf the net via various international locations without issue, using steaming sites locked to the USA, UK and France.
      During times when alternative VPNs (such as Express) were surpressed, Vypr continued to work.
      Customer service is great and reliable. They have helped rectify billing issues rapidly.
      Speeds are great.
      I would definitely recommend

Leave a review

Your email address will not be published.

* All the prices on this website are subject to change without notice. While we put a great deal of effort into making sure that all the prices are accurate, one or more products may have outdated prices. Please visit the specific product’s official website for exact prices.